It's been two years since we last heard from Columbus, Ohio riff-rockers Lo-Pan. At last, the wait for new music is finally over. Following 2014's Colossus, the band has returned with In Tensions, a five-song, limited-release 10" due in January. The opening sludge-fest, "Go West," premieres right here, right now. Listen below.

In crafting their latest effort, Lo-Pan linked up with a trusted team of personnel from all around the country: Jonathan Nuñez (Torche, Shitstorm) and Ryan Haft (Wrong, Capsule) split mixing duties, while Carl Saff (Big Business, Helms Alee, Russian Circles) manned the mastering. The packaging itself proves equally ambitious. The vinyl comes with a 100-page (!) book that contains artwork from Chris Smith (Grey Aria Design), plus tour diaries, flyers and the complete lyrics for all three of Lo-Pan's albums (2009's Sasquanaut, 2011's Salvador and the aforementioned Colossus). Scroll down for a photo of the whole spread.

Vocalist Jeff Martin detailed the project in a recent press release. “It’s about setting out to accomplish a goal, and then having that goal change along the way, and ultimately realizing the new goal was better than what you wanted in the first place," he said, elaborating further: “It’s also about getting out and doing something … So, keep moving forward. Keeping progressing. Keep evolving.”

Speaking of evolution, congratulations are in order for good ol' Lo-Pan. More specifically, their trusty van, which recently crossed the 250,000-mile mark — a milestone made all the more impressive by the fact that the band has had the same set of wheels since 2005. With a new EP on the way, and treks alongside Torche, High on Fire, Weedeater, KEN Mode and others under their belt, it won't be long before Lo-Pan load into their beloved automotive steed yet again to tour behind In Tensions; the band is plotting a North American tour for winter, with a European leg to follow shortly thereafter. Stay tuned!

Lo-Pan's In Tensions EP will be released on January 13 via Aqualamb in a limited run of 500 copies, each accompanied by a 100-page book. Pre-order it here.


1. "Go West"
2. "Sink or Swim"
3. "Long Live the King"
4. "Alexis"
5. "Pathfinder"