The Courtneys may hail from Vancouver, British Columbia, but they're New Zealanders at heart. Lifelong admirers of Flying Nun signees like the Clean and the Dead C, the trio specializes in the sunny power-pop endemic to the Down Under label, with a twist of garage punk thrown in for good measure. Following 2013's self-titled debut, the Courtneys have signed to the storied label for their sophomore album, The Courtneys II, due out this February. (They're the first non-New Zealand act to ink to Flying Nun in its 35-year history.)

Our first glimpse of next year's LP arrives in the form of "Silver Velvet," a feedback-laden, nonstop sugar rush that lands somewhere between Courtney Barnett and Crowded House. There's no comedown here — just a cavalcade of exuberant guitar highs and deliriously tangled vocal melodies. Take a listen below, and scroll down to check out a trailer for The Courtneys II, plus its album art and track list.

The Courtneys II will be released by Flying Nun on February 17. Pre-order it here.

unnamed (99)

1. “Silver Velvet”
2. “Country Song”
3. “Minnesota”
4. “Tour”
5. “Lost Boys”
6. “Virgo”
7. “25”
8. “Iron Deficiency”
9. “Mars Attacks”
10. “Frankie”